Home / NEWS & OPINION / 2016 City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award doubles prize amount, now open for entries

2016 City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award doubles prize amount, now open for entries



New and established writers are invited to submit proposals for the 2016 City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award, South Africa’s largest award for the development of nonfiction manuscripts for publication. The award is now made biennially, which has seen the prize amount doubled to R120 000. The winning manuscript will be published by Tafelberg, an imprint of NB Publishers, a leading publishing house in South Africa.

With the award, City Press and NB Publishers seek to encourage the tradition of nonfiction that interprets and portrays South African realities in an illuminating and thought-provoking way. The aim is to fund the research and writing of an original work of nonfiction that breaks new ground on a subject of importance in the South African context, irrespective of genre. The award is for English manuscripts only.

The closing date for entries is 30 June 2016.

Previous winners include Don Pinnock, whose book on the underbelly of Cape Town gang culture, Gang Town, will be published in March 2016, and Maria Phalime who was shortlisted for the Alan Paton Award for Postmortem: The Doctor Who Walked Away, published in 2014.

Other shortlisted titles that are to be published by Tafelberg include South Africa in Africa: Superpower or Neocolonialist? by Liesl Louw-Vaudran and The Keeper of the Kumm by Sylvia Vollenhoven. Donna Bryson’s It’s a Black-White Thing, about race dynamics at the University of the Free State was published by Tafelberg in 2014.

The criteria for submissions/entries are:

  • Relevance: The book should add to our understanding of South African society, history and politics.
  • Independence: The author must be unafraid to investigate sensitive or difficult issues.
  • Credibility: Research and information should be of an impeccable standard.
  • Readability: The book should be accessible, with quality writing.

Submissions should include a one page motivation on the relevance of the proposed book, a draft table of contents, at least one chapter with a minimum of 6 000 words and an author CV.

Proposals must be submitted electronically. The entry form can be downloaded from the Tafelberg website: www.tafelberg.com/Citypress.

For more information contact:

Kristin Paremoer

Tafelberg Nonfiction

021 406 3393


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also


NEWS FLASH Bob Dylan wins the 2016 Nobel Prize for literature.

Singer-songwriter, Bob Dylan, has been awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize for literature. ...